May it please the Court...

Getting to know all about you... Introductions? Looking to meet up with fellow forumites in your area? Not in your area? For all of these, this is the place to go.
auntmousie
Crazy Person

May it please the Court...

Post by auntmousie » Sun Jul 26, 2020 8:58 pm

Hey gang, it's me. I go by "auntmousie" but also occasionally throw around my real name (Alyson Young) because frankly I'm too lazy to hide it and I'm really not that difficult to find anyway.
Some interesting facts about me, in no particular order:
  • I'm a lawyer. I do Social Security disability appeals. The best thing about my job is that I get paid by the government to sue the government. My current biggest claim to fame is having done the oral arguments for a published case in the Ninth Circuit. You can look it up: Lamear v. Berryhill, 865 F.3d 1201 (9th Cir. 2017). Yes, really. (I've argued two other cases - one that was affirmed in an unpublished memorandum and I'm still bitter, and one that is still pending as of this writing.)
  • I'm happily married. I presently live with my wife, my niece, my nephew, and a somewhat insane number of cats. I technically also live with my best friend, but she works as a live-in caregiver so she is hardly ever home and that sucks.
  • I live in the outskirts of Portland, Oregon, and it's pretty awesome. But I'm from California, and frankly I miss seeing people who aren't white on a regular basis. My extended family covers pretty much all the colors that humans come in. Bonus, though, I have thirteen majestic redwood trees in my backyard.
  • My first gaming console was a Magnavox Odyssey. My favorite, if measured dispassionately by hours played, is still probably the Intellivision II. But I'm mostly a PC gamer.