Game Review: Defense Grid: The Awakening

Play it? Watch it? Listen to it? Post it! Discuss Movies, TV, DVDs, CDs, and Evangelion! Compare Computer, Video, Pen & Paper, Sports, and any other games you want. Most anything entertaining is fair game.
Martin Blank
Knower of Things
Knower of Things
Omnicode: sxy cm163 kg76 eso.#_glasses sp= Ag1974.October anE hdd Zot RlM Kd1y PeC&C FHb IN14 PrPython(3)^(7)&C(2)^(5)&C++(2)^(7)&JavaScript(2)^(5)&Ruby(1)^(5)&PHP(2)^(5) GM-6DN LAEN(9)&ES(2)^(6)&EO(1)^(7) Crc(6).Security MvD BA! PlM

Game Review: Defense Grid: The Awakening

Post by Martin Blank » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:38 am

I've been playing this tower defense game for a few years now. I play it on the PC via Steam, but it's also available on Mac and X-Box.

In some ways, it's fairly typical: you set up weaponized towers to kill the incoming enemy to prevent them from reaching some kind of goal. In this case, the enemy's goal is to steal your fusion power cores and get them off the map. Once gone (or once picked up by flyers), the cores are irretrievable and in most cases your chances at higher medals are gone, too.

There's a simple storyline as well, but it is helped along by an AI named Fletcher, voiced by Jim Ward, a prolific voice actor. He provides the plotline, explanations of the enemy, prompts when certain enemy types appear or when enemies grab a power core, handy when you're dealing with something in one corner of the map and can't see what's happening on the other side. The maps are 3D with zoom (though no rotation), but while it's smooth and the graphics are good, I rarely use the zoom at all.